My Story

I was first diagnosed with breast cancer at 26 – a few months before turning 27, as if it could make any difference! , I had surgery ( a non-radical mastectomy, aka nipple sparing mastectomy, which is something I am grateful about almost everyday of my life ! ) and afterwards I started the hormonal therapy: a pill a day and an injection every 28 days, I felt tired at the beginning but then it slowly went away. So it has been a year and half of hot flashes, bone aching but also much more: I started a healthy relationship, moved in with my love, now we have a little family of three cats, I finally got my degree in languages at my university, opened a yoga studio, travelled a lot, made ton of plans and… and then the bastard came back ! I found it out about a month ago… these things go so fast, in a blink of an eye I was in hospital ( again ) for an axillary dissection and I am now waiting to heal completely in order to start 7 ( !!! ) months of chemo and then radiotherapy and afterwards again back to the hormonal therapy ….. what can I say? it’s a journey and I will take it one step at the time ! there are ( few ) positive things about having cancer at 28 but this is gonna be my second topic !

I apologize for my mistakes but english is not my first language !

” Oh my friend is not what they take away from you that counts, it’s what you do with what you have left – Hubert Humphrey ”

PS. whoever is reading me – if anyone at all thank you deeply !

Viola

2 thoughts on “My Story

  1. I’m so sorry you have had to fight breast cancer twice at such a young age. For what it is worth, I was 29 at my first breast cancer diagnosis and am still alive, Mets free, 26 years later. Hang in there and take it a day at a time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

